Thursday, April 24, 2008

Secretaries’ Panel to screen report of Pay Commission - Secretary, Dept. of Posts is also a member of the Committee

The Govt. had appointed a 13-member empowered committee of Secretaries for processing the sixth Pay Commission report. The Committee, headed by Cabinet Secretary Shri.K.M. Chandrasekhar, will mainly function as a panel for screening the commission proposals. Its final recommendations will be submitted for Cabinet approval.
No time frame was set for the Committee. The panel would be expected to complete its task as fast as possible so that the Pay Commission report could be implemented at the earliest after Cabinet approval, said Mr. Kapil Sibal, Science & Technology Minister.
The Committee would include the Revenue Secretary, the Expenditure Secretary, the Home Secretary, the Defence Secretary and the Special Secretary, Internal Security, apart from the Secretaries of the Departments of Personnel and Training, Pension and Pensioners welfare and Posts.

No comments: